Dear Tracy Morgan, my name is Brandon and I think you’re a dumb ass.

Tracy Morgan, you dumb ass.

Seriously man where is your head? When I read the comments you made during your now infamous stand up routine in Tennessee, I slammed my forehead on my keyboard repeatedly for about 30 minutes hoping for a similar “there’s no place like home”-esque heel-click effect. That if I continued slamming my head on my keyboard long enough, and believed hard enough, that I would return to the real world where I would realize that all of this was all, in fact, just a dream.

After regaining consciousness and realizing that this horrible world we live in where morons like you get paid more than teachers was reality, I decided I needed to e-slap you – not because I really care one way or the other what happens to you or your career – but because you are obviously unaware of how unpolished and lame your shtick is. I have never thought you were funny, not only as an audience member but as a former comedian myself.

As most people know I was trained as an improv comedian for about a million years. I performed live on stage more times than I can remember with absolutely no script and not once during my “career” did I make such mindlessly idiotic statements. My peers and I never even considered going down the road of being blatantly offensive performers. We didn’t have to, because we were actually smart and funny.

I’m so annoyed by you, not just as a gay dude, but also as a performer. I love dark humor when it’s done right, but there is a very, very thin line between hilarious and belligerently horrid. I’m sure you’re aware of which side you landed on.

There is a difference between using comedy as a form of therapy and what you did. Dark humor is meant to make people face things; the elephant in the room. Saying what people are thinking but not talking about. It can be therapeutic to be so bold. To be able to laugh at the situation at hand with some tongue in cheek brassiness. I understand dark humor, I get it, I love it, but you fail at it.

Now I consider myself to be a fairly pragmatic person and I know what it’s like to be up there on that stage. I get it; sometimes things get carried away in the moment and you start feeding off the energy of the audience and morphing your performance to satisfy their needs. Maybe you didn’t write that material and it just came to you in the moment, or maybe you did write it (and if you did you should really consider A – anger management and B – hiring a writer), but either way I want you to be aware of the potential damage that was done.

Here is what is not ok about what you said, besides the fact that you said it at all. Your audience wasn’t laughing, they weren’t “in on the joke”. The audience reportedly applauded your statements, some going so far as to shout “You go Tracy!” That’s when your comedy show stopped being a comedy show and started being a platform to vent anger and disgust towards the gay community. That’s when it stopped being funny and started being a rally for hate.

I don’t understand how you felt this formula was a good idea:

  • You say “If his son [said] that [he] was gay he better come home and talk to him like a man and not [mimicking a gay, high pitched voice] or he would pull out a knife and stab that little N-word”
  • The audience cheers and applauds.
  • The audience goes home.

Maybe you thought whatever punchline was in your head was properly communicated, but I can guess that it wasn’t. Instead you just added fuel to the fire of a state of people whose anti-gay hate crimes have been on a steady increase for the last 5 years. Instead you gave the people responsible for this lovely art in 2008 some more inspiration:


Instead you told a city which holds the second highest number of anti-gay hate crime incidents for 2010 in the state of TN that they should attack someone who is gay, and as if that wasn’t awful enough you said that they as an adult should stab and kill their gay child. An interesting place to make that statement since in 2007, 24 of the 56 reported anti-gay hate crimes were against victims 24 years or younger.

Wow you are hilarious Tracy. Really good work you’re doing out there in the world.

People really need to stop paying you to support ignorance and violence, and comedians need to stop defending every dark humored joke that goes wrong. Here’s a newsflash: It’s only comedy if people are laughing.

I have a headache…

Leave a Reply

